Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Question

I'm an independent filmmaker looking to buy my first super 8 to shoot some recreations for a historical doc. I'm overwhelmed by the choices on ebay and wondering if anyone out there might have some advice for a new-timer. I'm looking for something that will be user-friendly and reasonably priced. Super-high quality is not important, as I'm hoping to shoot in a more impressionistic, memory-evoking style (which is why I find the super 8 format appealing). Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Arrow

A safe choice is Elmo, but some of their models only have 18 frames per second and single frame. 24 frames per second is considered "normal". Other reliable makers include Canon & Nizo.

You definitely want manual exposure and a couple of filming speed options plus a zoom lens of at least 4-1, preferably a 6-1 up to a 10-1.

If you're in Los Angeles call Spectra Film & Video as they like to keep around a couple of low cost super-8 cameras for sale that at the very least they have confirmed will run film satisfactorily. Doug and Jerry are very helpful. 818-762-4545

Yale Film lab might also have cameras available although I think their cameras are for rent only.
    818-508-9253

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Thanks, Alex. I am looking for variable frame rates, so I'm thinking about going with a Canon, maybe the 814. Is buying a Super 8 off of ebay too great a risk?

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Arrow

I guess if you check eBay auctions and also check out the sellers praise and negative comments that might be okay.