Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

February 2, 2006 -- THE once-vibrant East Village rock scene faces another demoralizing loss. The Continental, the punk rock dive on St. Marks Place that has showcased the likes of Iggy Pop, Guns N' Roses, the Ramones and Patti Smith over the years, will no longer offer live music.

Continental owner Trigger tells PAGE SIX that he plans to close the club in late spring, then re-open it as a "neighborhood bar with a great jukebox, a pool table and cheap drinks. My rents and overhead go up every year. It's become un-doable to have a punk rock club in this neighborhood these days - the crowd isn't there to support it."

Trigger said his friend Jesse Malin, who owns Niagara bar on Avenue B, will re-unite his band D Generation to play a send-off show at Continental. "It's breaking my heart to do this," Trigger said. "I'm a musician, too. I held on as long as I could. Once we re-open and the place is full of bridge-and-tunnelers and college kids, sure, I'm gonna have an easier time paying the rent - but it's going to be work, as opposed to a passion."

***my note***