Many years passed since my second ex-wife, Betty, humiliated my current wife, Vicki, in a catfight (Part 16). I always felt that Vicki would someday gain her revenge for that, but because she could not beat Betty, I felt that she would somehow involve me in a proxy fight to gain her revenge. In 1992, Vicki and I moved to Las Vegas. Vicki opened a store in a new mall at Caesar's, The Forum Shops, which went on to become a huge success. I was playing poker for a living at night and marshaling our teenage kids during the day. The first few years were uneventful, both from a catfighting perspective or even from just having sex. Vicki seemed too absorbed in her store and her success while I was scratching out a few dollars playing poker and being Mr. Mom.

In 1997, after we had lived in Vegas for about 5 years and the kids were off to college, she came to me one day talking about how she hired this "artsy" guy. A guy named Gene who was a long-haired musician who had just come off a tour, broke, having played guitar for some largely unknown rock group. Up to this point, all the guys that she had hired were quite quirky and mostly gay, so I didn't think anything of it at the time.

About six months later, she called me into the bedroom, and was quite emotional. Through tears she told me that she had done something that she would regret forever, and she would understand if I divorced her immediately. She had chlamydia. Worse, I suspect the main reason that she was telling me was that, ironically, we had only begun to have sex again recently and I probably had it too and needed to see a doctor.