Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

Re: Altec 511B horn compared to the GPA MR931

Quote Originally Posted by RonSSS View Post
    Why would you measure below 300hz? Seems like it would be easy to damage them.
    Can you detail your test setup for us?
    And, because I'm lazy, what is the MR931? The little guy used on the model 14?
    Edit: I went and looked...I never did like those.
    I have a pair of MR994 that I like quite well but have never really built into a system for critical evaluation. Small format 500hz, they are huge!
    Ron
    Bear in mind, I'm an utter noob with measuring, but I really am interested in getting better and putting up some more quantitative info about Altec gear (I'm inspired by the work of Zilch, Earl, Vin, and others here). Taking some advice I've received, I did a full-sweep with low SPL to avoid any damage.

My test setup is pretty simple:
    ECM-8000 $55
    Blue Icicle USB preamp $40
    Creative Labs SB1095 X-fi Pro USB external sound card $60 (this has a highly rated DAC for the money and doubles as a great replacement for my crappy laptop integrated sound)
    Old laptop w/ windows XP
    Mic Stand $20
    XLR Mic cable $4
    Holm Impulse Free
    Mic and pre-amp calibration by CSL $75 (includes off-axis and polar response measurements)

I did the measurements with no filters inline whatsoever, just the test rig hooked up to an old Onkyo SS amp and straight to the 902.

Quote Originally Posted by Panomaniac View Post
    Thanks for the plots, very nice reference.

As a long time user of HOLMImpulse here are some tips to give you cleaner results:
    • Keep the volume up. It looks like you are not running these very loud, at least not compared to the noise floor. You want a good S/N ratio.