Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

Re: Best Choice Cab For GPA 604-8H-III

Quote Originally Posted by LowOhms View Post
    I'm no enclosure expert, but I have been told ....big is GOOD !!

INTUITIVELY, I DO NOT LIKE ALL THOSE BRACES SCREWING WITH THE FLOW INSIDE THE BOX, at all !!!

One inch thick Baltic Birch. NICE airflow, minimal or no braces is my feeling, intuition.

JM
    I don't think the braces are really necessary with only 1 wpc. Start feeding those Altecs some real power, and then you'll see why all of us solid state guys brace our cabs

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Bigger is better with 604's, so it seems with some owners, especially with a large front baffle. I used the basic 620A cab with my old 604K's.

Here's an AA member "Garg0yle"'s monster ( 15-16^3) 604 corner cab build.... seems pretty large and impressive. When I get a another pair of 604's, and a set of corners in my upcoming house, I'll will try this cab myself.

I think he has detailed plans in the thread if I recall too.

-chris

Senior Hostboard Member LowOhms's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by Elitopus1 View Post
    I don't think the braces are really necessary with only 1 wpc. Start feeding those Altecs some real power, and then you'll see why all of us solid state guys brace our cabs

I feel that your perceptions about amps, on ALTECS ......is totally wrong! I don't like to add braces internally, as most do, so, instead, I use over 400 pounds of concrete to mass-load each 825 enclosure.

I have a 1.3 Watt amp in my living room, playing A5 VOTTs, and (a) The woofer cone hardly ever moves and (b) it has FAR better dynamic range and dynamic contrasting,.... much-more so than ANYTHING any users of 100-200 Watt FET musician-amps have ever heard, on an optimized ALTEC .