Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Biamping Vintage Altec 803B/804A/8/11B with Tube Amps

I've got Altec 803B low frequency drivers and 804A high frequency drivers with 811B horns. Original crossovers are N-800E (800Hz). The idea is to use the Magnavox 8802 for high frequency and the Magnavox 175 for low frequency. Speakers are 16 ohm, maximum 30 watts and the Magnavox amps are 6 to 8 ohms, with perhaps 12 watts output from push-pull 6V6'es.

I've never done biamping before, so a couple of questions.

There are lots of active crossovers to choose from, some higher cost ones have horn time aligment, while low cost ones, like Rolls SX21 or Sampson S-xover, do not offer the horn alignment feature. I believe that the Altecs, in cabinets per the Altec "Loudspeaker Enclosures: Their Design and Use" (1962) are physically time aligned. Is that correct?

And, I read that I can wire the woofer directly, but for high frequency, use a 50uF cap in series with the horn. Is that correct?

In the mean time, I will "de-pot" the ancient N-800E crossovers, which means archeological extraction of components covered in tarry goo, then replace caps as found.

Appreciate any comments on guidance on this. Thanks!

20161113_112151.jpg

Senior Hostboard Member Elitopus1's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

Re: Biamping Vintage Altec 803B/804A/8/11B with Tube Amps

I replied to your similar thread over on Audiokarma.

I don't think safety caps for the HF driver are as important when active biamping with a tube amp, since you have the OPT's to protect the drivers.

When I biamped with SS amps, I did use something around 50uf. It would probably be the safe way to do things regardless of the amp choice.

I'm curious about the little box that the horn is mounted to. I would think that would cause some reflections.

Junior Hostboard Member SanJoseMichael's Avatar