Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I'm new to the trade so its quite possible the question I'm about to pose is a bit silly.

The IBERVILLE device box for steel stud construction (BC3104-LSSX) does not have a positive stop where the BX enters the box and gets clamped down. At first glance this box appears to be for NMSC only. However, the carton stats that it's approved for both Loomex and BX.

I find that the anti-short can be easily squeezed out of the BX without having something that the anti-short is be pressed up againsted.

Hope this makes sense.

Dave

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I?ve seen those positive stop clamps be the source of problems as the wire insulation can be cut by the sharp edges as the device is pushed into the box. I always make it a habit to tape the anti short in place with electrical tape, whether this is code or not someone can respond, but I know the anti short will not be squeezed out even in a NM clamp.
    Joe

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Upon review of my initial message I can see that I never really asked a question, I just stated the problem I was experiencing.

So here's the question. Is there a code rule that covers how BX cable should be terminated and fastened to a device box aside from the fact that an anti-short must be used and be visable.

Thanks,
    Dave

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Hello Dave

Rules 12-602 to 12-618 apply to armoured cable work.

Have you tried not pushing the bx past the cable clamp.
    In other words, don't let the armour pass past the cable clamp,but do let the little tab on the anti-short stick out below the clamp.

Hope this helps.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)