Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Angry

Hi, everyone. I know it has been about forever since I posted, but, honestly, there hasn't been much to say.

I am still unemployed. Fortunately I still have enough money saved up to not have to move in with my parents or anything drastic like that, but it is not fun and I am rapidly coming up on 18 months out of work. That would normally mean my health insurance runs out, but I am still a part-time student (didn't accellerate my class schedule for just this reason) so I can get student coverage through NYU. And student coverage is a heck of a lot cheaper than the COBRA coverage too.

I am taking 3 classes this semester. That is the max I can take as a part time student. It won't finish the degree (or I would lose my health insurance) but it will get me up to 20 of 24 credits. That will allow me to move if I need to for a job. You are allowed to take up to 4 credits at another school and transfer them back. Oh, in case anyone cares, I am taking partnership tax I, estate and gift tax I and taxation of executive compensation.

I have a meeting this week with my professor from last term to try to pump her for information about where I might get work. She is totally connected in the not-for-profit world, so it might help. Right now, she is recommending me for a position at the IRS in the exempt org division. There is a complex point system and all sorts of other stuff you have go through for a government job, so a recommendation from one of the top educators in the field is no guarantee, but hopefully it will help a little.

By the way, I was thinking of going to the comic con in New Jersey to get a few autographs from JMS back in the spring, but I was studying for the exam in this prof's class, so I skipped it. I did get an A and therefore the possibility of her endorsement, so it was worth it, but, man, going would have been cool.