Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I really want to try my hand at sewing for my dolls. Especially more so Kit/Molly/Emily type dresses-I love the clothes from that time.

I don't want pricey patterns because I am a beginner. And as a beginner, I don't want patterns that I would need to make alternations to as well.

Can anyone help me? My grandma is an excellent seamstress so I'm sure she can help me if I run into problems. I just need to know where to look!

-Jordyn

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

In my experience, Simplicity patterns are the easiest/cheapest patterns around. The only one I saw that looks in the ballpark of Molly/Emily/Kit is 4347. I THINK you can go to http://www.simplicity.com/index.cfm?....cfm&nomatch=1 and search for 4347 (in the second/number search box) to view it and see if you'd like it. If you like it, and if you have a JoAnn's nearby, just watch their website and see when the next sale on the patterns is. If you're patient you can pick the pattern up for $1! I just made a dress with a Butterick pattern and it wasn't too hard, so you'd probably do OK with one of those if they are on sale.

Good luck with your project! Please share it with us when you're done. [img]smile.gif[/img]

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

There are several McCalls/ Butterick patterns that are fairly simple as well. I think it was McCall's that had a set that claimed to be 1950's. Several patterns seem to fit the Molly era though and are very cute. I haven't gotten that set yet, so I don't know the number. If you have a Hancock Fabrics, Hobby Lobby, or JoAnne's about wait for the sales. You can easily stock up on lots of patterns for $1-2 each.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)