Thread: OT: eBay insertion fees?

thepidget

Question

Hi all,

I have a question about eBay. If you're a seller and your item does not sell, are you still charged with insertion fees? I'm still fairly new to this and I'm having trouble finding their answer on their website.

Thanks so much! [img]smile.gif[/img]

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Yep-they get their money whether you make money or not. Occasionally (every 2-3 months) they have a special, .10 listing day. Those help, especially if you are selling a valuable item that you don't want to start at too low of a price. They should send you an email, or watch for the announcement on their home page. HTH.

thepidget

Originally posted by mandasmom:
    Yep-they get their money whether you make money or not. Occasionally (every 2-3 months) they have a special, .10 listing day. Those help, especially if you are selling a valuable item that you don't want to start at too low of a price. They should send you an email, or watch for the announcement on their home page. HTH.
    <font size="2" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">Oh, thanks...I didn't know! I kept looking on the eBay site where they explain their fees, but they never quite say straight out "We'll charge you regardless of whether or not your item sells." So it was just hard to be sure.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Yup, listing fees are charged whether or not the item sells. Price of the fees vary depending on price you start the item. I believe the cost changes when you go from 24.99 to 25.00 too so you're oftentimes better pricing at say 24.99 in lieu of 25.00.