Thread: Yes, I'm a newbie, and I need a little help

milkyway

Question

I'm a film student and I've been learning on 16mm film but I am dying to buy a S8 camera but it looks like my options are only ebay and it just looks like people don't know anything about the cameras they put online!

All I want is a camera that runs 24 fps, and decent lens (not just a fixed 13mm wide lens)

I'm willing to search at flea markets and such but WHERE DO I START? What should I look for, ask for, first? Is crystal sync a must for syncing dialogue in post prod? I really know nothing about the mechanics of a Super 8 camera...yet...

Also, just curious...is it possible to run S8 film in a regular 8mm camera?

Let me know, let me know

milkyway

------------------

#Pedro

Hi!

My remarks:

Film stock: All S8 film is cardrige loaded (50 ft) and can be run only in S8 cameras, designed for that cart. Not in reg 8, not in Single 8 and not in double S8.
    There are mostly Kodak reversal films available:
    Universal use, high-quality: K40 (40 ASA tungsten, 25 ASA daylight)
    Night shots: VNF (125 ASA tungsten)
    B/W: tri-x-pan, plus-x-pan
    negative: 200T

camera:

If you are used to 16 mm and shurly have some requirements rather than basic (film student) AND some bucks left, I would go for a Beaulieu. Reasons: good service and spare part situation, company is "active" even today, interchangable lenses with c-mount just as in 16 mm, reliable viewfinder with ground glass for exact focusing, 16 mm-similar overall construction.
    Not cheap, but cheaper than hassling around with every month another "cheap" camera.

A good source is Europe, where cameras cost less than half the US-prices.
    F.e. Bavaria Film Munich has 6008 models for about USD 1000. http://www.bavaria-cinehome.de/

You could look for a 4000/5008 (rather cheap, no flash sync socket, syncing only with expensive crystal adaption possible) or a 6008/7008/9008 (latest hi-end models with all options).