Thread: $1,000 to get into Super 8........

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Hey ya'll. I dig this board, I've done a lot of research here on the archives. I'm a musician by trade but i've got a couple short scripts and I'd like to start shooting super 8 shorts. My dream is to shoot the films and write my own score for them, so dialog and sound recording isn't real important, right now at least. I guess i'm going to have to convert everything onto the computer for editing, although I would like to learn how to hand edit. Anyway, I want everything to be pretty pro, in the end I'll want to show the films (with sound) maybe at a small theatre or something. In other words, I'm not doing this as a home hobby but rather for artistic expression. I want the film and music to be of equal importance...instead of just releasing a CD I want to release a DVD that can be watched or listened to or both. This may sound a bit over-ambitious but I play in a fairly well known band and I think I can make this new endeavor happen.

So my question is, if you had a grand to spend to get into super 8 filmmaking, what equipment would you get? Or, knowing what i'm trying to do, would you forget 8mm and just go straight to 16mm? I see the Canon 1014 XLS is a pretty good camera. I'll want to shoot a lot of film so keep that in mind in the budget. I don't need to worry about lights because I have a friend that works for a big photography lighting company in town and she can hook me up with the right stuff. What kind of PC editing program should I get and how do I get the film converted? Also, I'll need a nice projector. And like I said I would like to learn how to edit by hand but if its not cost-effective at all I may not be able to.