Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Question

I'm new to all this non-linear editing stuff and I'm bloody confused. I am shooting on S-VHS and using a G3 Mac with Adobe Premier. Where does a capture card come into it??? what do I need it for? What about the SCSI drive???? what do I need it for/what does it do??????
    could someone please explain the whole non-linear editing set-up please cause I'm damn confused??? what I need and how it connects etc etc

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

for non linear editing, you need a PC with a fast write access hard drive in order to capture the video in real time and record it to the hard drive. therefore the bigger and faster hard drive the better.
    Your video playback (with your camcorder) has to be linked to the PC by mean of a firewire card: It s a component (IEEE )that proceed the fast input of videodatas and is provided with several kind of videoinput(S-vhs, vhs, DV,..) in order to let you plug your video source to the PC.
    The videocapture is driven by a software supplied with the firewire card. Premiere is the most famous but you ll probably get something else with your card.
    SCSI technology is the process used in your harddrive to get a fast input rate in order to record video datas in realtime.(25 high definition frames per second). The better the graphic definition the larger, the data bulk, the faster the drive has to be.