Thread: Drumlessons in LA or San Francisco?

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Question

Just throwing this question out there. I am a swedish drummer, who's coming to California on vacation this spring and wonder if anyone can recommend ways of taking drumlessons in either LA or San Francisco? Anyone had experience of this? What does it cost, and how does one go about it and which teacher would you recommend?

Thankfull for any response! [img]graemlins/thumbs_up.gif[/img]

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I know that both Pete Magadini and David Garabaldi at least USED to give lessons in SF (both live out in the hinterlands and may actually require a journey). I seem to remember the drum guy at Haight Street Music being pretty well hooked in with them; it's worth a call. It's been a little while since I checked though. I'm sure they are not cheap--Tony Williams was something like $150/lesson when I asked in 1999 (did not have that kind of dough then). But then, come on, it's Tony Williams.

Also, isn't Steve Smith supposed to be in the Bay Area? I have no idea if he gives lessons even if so.

Other guys here know more about teachers in LA. The obvious people there would be Weckl, Bissonnette, Gruber and our own Steve Holmes, if they're in town.

Best of luck--

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Lemmon Percussion in San Jose has a few good teachers. San Jose is about 40 minutes south of San Francisco. Look them up if you're in that area of CA.

Oh, Tony Williams died in 1997 btw.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Originally posted by Zak Morton:
    Oh, Tony Williams died in 1997 btw.