Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Hi Steve! Could you share some exercises, tips or ideas on timing?
    I?m working hard with my click, but i found myself dragging time in some grooves/tempos...
    Suggestions are welcome!

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Hey Julian,
    thanks for writing. I actually answered this question but for some reason the entire thread disappeared. I'm new at running my own board.

Be sure to make mental notes of what you're playing when you're dragging. Casey Scheurell once told me that he noticed himself rushing only when his HH foot stomped 8th notes in the groove. If you drag during certain parts, make note of exactly what your playing and loop that. Play it at various tempos to the click.

Another great tool is to set up a click that goes silent for 2-4 bars but doesn't stop. Dig? When it comes back in, see how much time your time moved, make mental notes so you can adjust. The more you do it, the more solid your tempo will be.

Good luck!
    :-)

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Thaks, Steve! In a couple of weeks i?ll tell you how it worked! [img]wink.gif[/img]

Right now i?m practicing 4 hours a day, and i try to play 12 to 15 hours on weekends...
    How would you use that practice time? I?m spending most of the time playing along with records, working on Syncopation and playing time (recording myself) and listening back...
    Any other suggestions? I don?t have a regular plan that i follow every day, and i?m not sure if i should have one... (in order to track progress, maybe?)

Thanks...

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)