Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

hey steve,

hope your tours with Scofield and Mahattan are going great. Just a question about bass drum technique and fitness. i've latley been prcticing your bass drum exercise (1 through 8 and it's really a cool exercise) and other bas drum building exercises. My question is i seem to be experiencing pain after most gigs in my calf muscle. i've been playing profesionally for 10 years and can't figure out how stop getting the pain. i have practiced slowly to build up the strength and the muscles needed to play bass drum, but still pain. i think my main problem is doing 2 fast 16th notes together, like in the Michael jackson's "rock with you". do you have any thoughts on fitness exercises other than playing the bass drum, what foods to eat in regards to developing muscles in calfs and any other ideas about the topic.

I do use both the heel up and heel down technique, depending on the situation.

Also do you feel that micing up a kit and hearing yourself especially the bass drum can hinder your playing (if you can't hear the bass drum) or if you can (you don't have to play as hard)?

cvitan

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Hey man!

Thanks for writing. Sorry to hear about the pain in your calf. It is only your right foot(or BD foot)? I can't really help there. I myself have experienced some joint pain in my knees on very long gigs. I find that a massage once or twice a month, some regular exercise and warming up have helped those disappear for me. I suggest you ask your doctor about it.