Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Why do people always think Christians are judgemental?

Sanguinarius

The bible was not fallible. Man was fallible.

The scriptures are infallible so far as they are translated properly. With the changing of those texts the translations take on new meaning. What says man to you might mean woman to another.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Tra, some things in the Bible directly contradict each other. I agree with you that the Bible is a great teaching tool. It provides examples for us to lead exemplary lives.

However, there are things in the Bible that are just plain... wrong. I majored in Religious Studies in college and closely read texts in their original Greek. Many of the texts have been misinterpreted.

For example, the story of Sodom and Gomorrah, frequently cited as an example of the Bible's alleged condemnation of homosexuality, isn't about that at all. Rather, the moral of the story is that angels and humanity must not mix. I find it abhorrent that some Christians will cite Sodom and Gomorrah- in so doing they imply that it is perfectly okay offer one's virgin daughters to be raped. I find this disgusting.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I believe that God guided the hand of everyone who had any part in the writing, compiling, or translating of the Bible. Thus, it is perfect and infallible.

Handmaid--no one in their right mind would say it is ok for anyone to offer up their virgin daughters to be raped. No one, is saying that. Sodom and Gamorrah may not have been destroyed solely because of homosexuality, but it was part of it.
    I prefer to cite Romans 1:18-32 to say homosexuality is wrong.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)