Thread: Unsuccessfully searching for a job for almost 2 years.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

Unsuccessfully searching for a job for almost 2 years.

I should start off by stating that I am not unemployed. I have been working for a little over a decade as a NYC Public School Teacher, and I still have that position. I am 37 years old, white, and male.
    I am a Technology Teacher and a Technology Coordinator within one school building. The second position involves giving Tech Support and helping teachers incorporate new software into their classroom, as well as weighing in on the technology strategy for our school.
    In addition to that I'm a self taught web developer. I started to teach myself about 4 years ago, and have been working nights and weekends as a freelance web developer for about two years.
    I have been feeling burned out in the classroom, and have been looking to leverage my skills and my experience into a new career. I have been applying for jobs as a web developer, as well as jobs in the edtech sector. All in NYC.
    I have applied for jobs that I am perfectly qualified for including web developer, curriculum developer (I've been writing my own curriculum for my entire career), staff trainer, technology teacher trainer, customer liaison for edtech companies helping schools begin using new technology, and countless others. I have gotten interviews, but never closed the deal. Some of these positions I was so qualified for that I was baffled that I didn't get the job, and completely unable to imagine what they were looking for.