Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Hi, I've been reading the message board for a few weeks now. I just bought a yellow 61C.
    We think she is in rather good condition.
    Her sides are dirty from being in the same place for 50 years, but the top,porcelain,and knobs look fine to me.
    How do I clean the porcelain carefully?
    She is in the garage at the moment as I don't have a gas line in my kitchen.
    I am thinking of having PSE&G come and check the lines to make sure everything is ok.
    The stove works! The owner turned on all the burners and the grill and griddle for me. I have been using an electric cooktop for six years and would love to have the Chambers moved into my kitchen.
    Has anyone had a utilty service person install a safety valve?
    Thanks for your help.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

Hello and WELCOME to the CHAMBERS family!

Some thoughts:

1. With regard to cleaning, check here:

[b][i][url="http://www.chamberstoves.net/Cleaning.html"]Cleaning A Chambers[/url][/i][/b]

2. I would not have the Gas Co. come out and check it. Sometimes, they red tag it when they see it has no safety system. Often, they red tag them just because "it's old". Stupid, but true. You can check the lines yourself. Look here:

[url="http://www.hostboard.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi/ubb/get_topic/f/7954/t/1023"]Intermittent Gas Leak[/url]

3. With regard to a safety system, there are pro's and con's about them. You can read about them on this Discussion Board. Just do a search for "safety system." You can do it yourself or have someone do so that's handy, or pay a certified gas appliance repairman to do so by having him follow the instructions found on this Board.

4. You REALLY NEED the Service Manual in order for whomever does the work to be certain they're doing it right. You can get one from me or from Sam.