Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

There was once a boy named Elijah who's parents built a path for him, and he knew nothing else but to walk down it.

move5

Mr. Colver, by profession, worked for the California state police. He was young, but had earned varying amounts of respect from his peers for being good at what he did, especially since it was no secret that he didn't want to do it. His parents were jewish (though Elijah was not) and carved their son's pre-destined path knowing how well he would turn out. Sure, he turned out well.

Elijah should have been a poet.
    He should have been a writer.
    He had pianist's fingers.
    He had an artist's eyes.

But he was a good boy. And nothing would change that. Twenty-four years old and leading on the path to lead him nowhere.

cut5

( He doesn't have a screen name yet, BUT! I'm looking for SLs. You can IM me at Stop this worId. )

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I've been at this for a long time, but I won't ever get used to it. The people I work with, the idiots I arrest, the citizens I help; they are all like blurs along the side of the road which I'm driving past at ninety miles an hour. There's no point in stopping to see and hear anymore. I don't talk to my parents about it, and they love me for it. They love me for my obedience, however blind and loving they think it is. I wish I could be grateful, but I simply do not belong here. I look down at my shoes and I think they aren't mine. I lay down on my bed and feel like I am in someone else's. I sense my own heartbeat as if through a stethoscope.

I wish someone could tell me what exactly I am doing here and how I got here.