Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: The BLACKBIRD saga continues... NEW UPDATE !!!

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Sounds very interesting. Look for specific ets or whp?

Senior Hostboard Member JRCivic's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Wink

For all you newbies on this board... this is an engine project that I have been working on now for FIVE years. The first year was spent developing the initial design and rotating assembly geometry. The longblock was completed and assembled in the following year. The next year and a half were spent waiting for Oscar and Moss to create a custom intake manifold for me to adapt the Gen4 M62 (which is found on the new RSX-S kit) using a counter-rotating head assembly. This never materialized... Oscar retired and the project stalled. During this time, my shop was hit by a massive FLOOD and the engine was destroyed... the sleeving had to be re-done, the rings, pistons, bearings, oil pump, water pump, seals and gaskets had to be replaced... and everything had to be meticulously cleaned. I made a change in the piston CR as well as the design... to modernize the project to capitalize on more recent findings within the JRSC community. I am now using a JE FSR piston design with an approximate CR of 11:1.

As of today... I am SOOOOO CLOSE to firing the car. The engine resides inside the engine bay of the '93 Si which you see at left in my Avitar... mated to a brand new GSR transmission augmented by a Quaife LSD and a LS 5th gear set... coupled to the crankshaft via a Tilton dual-disc 7.25" cerametallic clutch with their new hydraulic release bearing. To cope with the additional power, I added DropZone D1 fully adjustable coilovers, braided stainless steel brake lines, AEM pads front and rear and a traction control system.