Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

What to do with Altec 515b and 288-8g on 805b horns

Good day,

Am a newbie here. Im from Manila, Philippines. Need some help from the gurus here who are knowledgeable on Altecs. Recently (and cheaply)got a pair of 515b drivers (16 ohms) and a pair of 288-8g (8 ohms) on 805b horns. Can anyone suggest what cabinet design and crossover design is suitable for the mentioned drivers. I'm not so sure if the Altec A5 (828b or 825) enclosure design would do. Also what dividing network will work on this? Im a dimwit with technical stuff but I do have good hands for cabinet making.

Another question is, since the HF driver is 8ohms and the LF driver is 16ohms, what can I do about it? My guess is is that the pair 515b drivers were initially just for one speaker connected together to make it 8ohms. The other pair must have been sold somewhere else. Is there a way to use the LF and HF driver with different impedance?

Would appreciate your help.

Many thanks,
    Earl

Senior Hostboard Member bowtie427ss's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    22 Post(s)

Re: What to do with Altec 515b and 288-8g on 805b horns

Please be kind to the new fella, i steered him here for the premier in Altec guidance.

Welcome eestrera! :welcome:
    Not all vegetables make good leaders.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Quote Originally Posted by bowtie427ss View Post
    Please be kind to the new fella, i steered him here for the premier in Altec guidance.

Welcome eestrera! :welcome:
    Thank you very much sir. :thankU:

Senior Hostboard Member aeyb701's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Hello Earl and welcome.