Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Radial(Tangerine) versus the regular circumcerential phase plug

I am not an engineer, but I've read a bit of the technical stuff from Altec that it is supposed to be better, to extend the high freq response etc.

When I first got my 806 drivers, I was curious what the phase plug actually looked like; and so I opened the back and remove the 'phram and looked at the phase plug, it was a piece of machined steel, with semi-circular groves, no biggie, and replaced all of the parts and button it up.

I haven't actually taken apart a radial/Tangerine phase plug driver, but the newer phase plug is a piece of molded plastic that is held in place by glue. One thing for sure, the new radial phase plug is a lot cheaper to make because it is cheaper to mold a piece of plastic than to machine a piece of metal(of course once you recovered the cost of making the mold.)

Can we actually hear a sonic difference between the two phase plug designs, I know they can measure it with instruments. I am not against the new plug, I am all for cheaper, without any performance degradation. I am just curious.

Senior Hostboard Member

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    56 Post(s)

Re: Radial(Tangerine) versus the regular circumcerential phase plug

I kinda agree, cost was part of the equation.

In theory the radial plug is better, but hard to machine. So it's molded.

Personally would like to see the Tangerine type made in something like obsidian, very hard and smooth. Might shatter in portable apps. Perhaps Pyrex?

But I'd always rather think about what could be rather than what is. Lots more freedom that way.
    Your neighbors called. They like your music.

Senior Hostboard Member Ronald Lee's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)