Page 6 of 26 FirstFirst 12345678910111213141516 ... LastLast

Thread: New Heathkit AS101 owner - First post.

Senior Hostboard Member gearfreak's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Re: New Heathkit AS101 owner - First post.

Quote Originally Posted by alancohen View Post
    So if I wanted to do some measurements, what would you recommend. I've never done anything like this before and I don't have a proper mic.
    No software recommendations per se, I am not rigged up for anything beyond the WT3 from PE, which I use to track experiments to the ports in mine via impedance plot. There are experienced members, and threads about that here though.

* Freeware WinISD does have a signal generator build in, very useful. Consider though the capabilities of the sound[card/device] used / have some baseline to check the output against.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

I think it needed some messing with, Ron...at least for my taste. The mids are so out in front, the lower frequencies lagged. I added the wood on the bottom of the horn and then put a few pieces of closed-cell foam on either side of the horn leaving about 14sqin per speaker of port. It seems to have helped the bottom end catch up quite a bit. Bass drums are punchier and bass guitar licks are bouncier. The foam might be narrowing the horn dispersion, but it seems to sound great.
    You are the listener, so give it some time with various music and see. As Geek mentioned, it is nice to see where it was stock by measuring as he stated, then see how it measures after the tweak. It's a pretty simple measurement. Would be interesting to know where heath had them tuned.
    Might also be interesting to mess with differing amounts of stuffing.

Ron
    Enjoying Altec Speakers since 1972

Senior Hostboard Member cradeldorf's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned