Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Altec 3870, new to me

Hi,
    I just acquired a pair of Altec 3870. I am a small time collector of vintage audio gear but I am new to Altec speakers so I know nothing about them and information seems to be very scarce. Can someone here tell me about them? What I know now is that they were one owner speakers which is probably why the cabinets are in great shape, not even a single water ring on top and they haven't been shipped across the country. They are a 2 way sealed cabinet and the woofers are great but neither tweeter works. They sound fair even without the tweeter, bass heavy of course but they surprised me. Are the tweeters available, or a real good replacement? Any info would be appreciated. (I am not looking for what they are worth because I probably paid too much and I am keeping them.)
    Thanks

Senior Hostboard Member bowtie427ss's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    22 Post(s)

Re: Altec 3870, new to me

The woofer is actually the 420A bi-flex extended range speaker, some folks really like these. The tweeter was made most likely by CTS, but i've also seen some made by becker(i probably have a couple pair stashed around here somewhere). The phenolic ring tweeter available from parts express is a suitable replacement, and some suggestions for a better replacement have also been made here recently in this thread: OT: Reproduction Phenolic Ring Tweeter Suits Altec
    Not all vegetables make good leaders.

Junior Hostboard Member nonobaddog's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)