Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

Love my 604e's

Just had to replace a HF driver in one. Bill at Great Plains Audio shipped it out fast to California. Got everything working again, and the sound is just stunning.

604's powered by 4 watts per channel Transcendent Sound Mini Beast (transformerless SET) and McIntosh C22 preamp. That combination just kicks ass.

Senior Hostboard Member rogerh113's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

Re: Love my 604e's

604's are wonderful speakers.

I have been curious about OTL for a while now. How large are your cabinets, and how is the bass line with 4 watts at reasonable listening volumes?

regards -- Roger

Junior Hostboard Member Twodawgz's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)

I was a recording engineer in the mid 1970s to early 1980s. Mainly I was a mastering engineer for ABC Recording Studios and Artisan Sound Studios, among others, in Los Angeles. All of the studios I worked for, and others that I visited, had Altec 604e's as their main studio monitors, with several others for reference (JBL, Auratone, etc.). The Altec 604e's were known as "The Standard of the Industry", and had been in use in studios since they first came out in 1964.

I bought my 604's new in, I believe, 1977 (possibly 1978), when I read somewhere that Altec had released a limited run of 100 of the e's. I was able to track them down and bought two from Hollywood Sound in Los Angeles. I still have the receipts in a folder.