Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

GPA 604 ferrite vs alnico?

Hi everyone I'm a newbie here who is getting ready to hopefully build a nice set of 604s. I plan on buying a set of GPA drivers, and I'm wondering if anyone can comment on the differences in sound qualities between their normal Ferrite and the Alnico version?

I have a set of Omega 6.5" alnico full range speakers, but basically I want to make sure the alnico versions are worth the almost $1000 difference.

Senior Hostboard Member rogerh113's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)

Re: GPA 604 ferrite vs alnico?

I would be interested in hearing opinions on this as well. If anyone knows the 'theoretical' answer, that would be interesting as well.

regards -- Roger

Junior Hostboard Member squirrel2782's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Agreed, opinions of the 604E Alnico from GPA seem to be quite lacking in general.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    43 Post(s)

Depends a lot on the signal chain's damping factor [DF], but the core difference is ferrite is an insulator and AlNiCo a heat sink, so obviously the former can cause rapid VC heat rise = thermal power distortion even on 'fast' transients [dynamic headroom] whereas the latter a much slower one.

This is most noticeable as a 'stretching out' of the effected BW such as an organ pipe, piano, bass string, etc., sustain and can be REALLY obvious when driven with a high output impedance amp, which is often described as from 'lush' to 'syrupy'.