Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

i work as an electrical estimator and foreman for a electrical company in winnipeg manitoba .one of our customers require some work done to there cable tray system which currently resides at about 3 feet off the ground .the proposal is to add a second tray alongside the first tray which will carry high voltage wiring (15kv) and low voltage wiring (600v)ac. in using the same tray for both high and low voltage a barrier would have to be installed according to sec 36-100
    (3).a couple of concerns can we run a tray with high voltage this close to the ground and also i believe i will have to cover the tray but i can't seem to find a code rule also there is a chain link fence really close to the tray will this or should this be bonded to ground.any suggestions .I have a call into my local inspection dept.first time post long time reader
    Thanks

<font color="#a62a2a" size="1">[ May 14, 2004 03:12 PM: Message edited by: glen1 ]</font>

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Lightbulb

Glen1,

I hope this helps . . .

Question #1

Rule 36-100 Conductors

(2) Except as permitted in Paragraphs (1)(b), (1)(c), and (1)(d), conductors used indoors or attached to buildings outdoors shall be:

(d) Type TC tray cable installed in cable tray in accordance with Rule 12-2204.

(3) High-voltage type TC cables shall not be installed in the same cable tray with low-voltage conductors except where the high-voltage TC cables are separated from the low-voltage conductors by a barrier of sheet metal not less than 0.0528 inch thick (No. 16 MSG).

Intent for Rule 36-100