Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sewing ? - How do people design their own outfits.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I have seen people who say that they have designed their own outfit or pattern. Do they use a pattern that is already created for adults and then size it way down to the dolls measurements? My mom is a great sewer and could make so many outfits if she knew where people started when creating their own outfits...or is this something you have to go to school to learn how to do? Any advice from people who have done this?

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I am far from an expert (probably either an advanced beginner or a very low-level intermediate), but I find the best method for starting out is to take an existing doll pattern and then modify it for your uses. If you want a dress, it's very easy to take one of the many existing dress patterns and make some changes. I try to find a pattern that's pretty close to what I'm looking for (hopefully at a $1 pattern sale at JoAnns [img]biggrin.gif[/img] ) and then modify it.

Of course, a real expert can actually "draft" her or his own patterns, but that's a whole other kettle of fish.

Good luck! I'll be watching this thread too. [img]smile.gif[/img]

<font color="#33CCCC" size="1">[ August 30, 2006 11:14 PM: Message edited by: Kenshinchan ]</font>

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Originally posted by Kenshinchan: