Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Question

I've recently been looking to go back to work for the next year or so, since it looks like I'll still be going to school only part time. My last job was a supervisor at UPS, which is something I'd never do again. At this point, I'm really only looking for some sort of manual labor job without a ton of responsibility and hassle. I've had a bunch of varied jobs over the years, but one job I've never tried before is kitchen / restaurant work - you know, the "behind the scenes stuff", washing dishes, cooking, spitting in people's food, whatever. Anyway, I was just wondering if anyone here has had experience in this field and what they thought of it. I've never been big on customer service and the jobs I've had in management were really more involved then I wanted them to be. Any advice or other suggestions are appreciated [img]smile.gif[/img]

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I've worked in some kitchens, and I will never do so again unless I am forced to.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ditto! Kitchen work has to be among the worst jobs imaginable (for me anyways). It's hot as fuck in the kitchen, bad air, tight, stressful, it can stink and washing the plates & cutlery is also great if you like cleaning up other peoples shit after them!

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

Cool

Dude, you will never escape responsability, it's already in all jobs from the easiest to the hardest. Now, some people handle responsability better than others.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

I'd advise janitorial before kitchen work.
    I've done both, and janitorial is MUCH less stressful.