Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Question

I'm just getting into filmmaking, so I've been reading a lot of books and finding out as much as I can. I've got a camara that looks okay (Sankyo ES-44 XL). I got some film the other day from Kodak. But I'm still trying to figure out how to properly focus my camera. I'm afraid to film anything until I'm confident what I shoot will come out in focus.

The camera has a split image range finder. It's a circle in the middle of the viewing screen with a horizontal line down the middle. Nothing else.

I understand how I'm supposed to focus on an object, but I'm not sure if it's working properly. I've been aiming my camera at objects with straight lines, with that horizontal line over top of them, then adjusting the focus ring until the line in the object isn't broken.

My problem is that the object sometimes doesn't look sharp once I do this. The line in the object is good, but the image now seems not so sharp. I don't get it. Does this make any sense?

(I can get sharp images without performing this "broken line" correction. But I've read that this doesn't mean the image will come out in focus. It just seems strange to look at a not so sharp image that the range finder says is now good and sharp.)

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

This is nothing to be concerned about. You should use the split-image prism as your guide and forget about trying to focus so that the image looks sharp in the viewfinder.

Because the majority of super8 cameras do not have ground-glass screens, you cannot rely on how sharp the image looks in the viewfinder to focus your image.

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Originally posted by Pennyroyal: