Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Question

I'm new in this neck of the woods, so go easy on me. This is probably an old question but I think of it every once in a while and have yet to hear a good answer or at least one that doesn't fly over my head. (Maybe I have heard a good answer but I just didn't realize it. My life story?)

If God created the universe, then who or what created god. I don't see how God could create him/her/itself as that would imply that the very beginning of God preceded the existance of God.

If matter is essentially energy and energy can be neither created, nor destroyed, only altered, then the idea of something being created or born from nothing seems kind of absurd to me. This suggests to me that there has always been something instead of nothing. If this is the case, then one of the key reasons for believing in God goes right out the window. Why believe in a creator if 'creation' has always existed in one form or another.

Also, if one believes that God created Itself, it should be just as easy to believe that 'creation' created itself. After all, if reality is so quirky that something (energy/matter) can be created from nothing, who is to say this act of creation must be a concious act? Maybe something-from-nothing is a non-concious natural occurance. Maybe there is nothing, then something, then nothing again, and so on, or something, then nothing, then something and so on and so on and so on...

Yeah, I know. It's all been asked before. Just thought it would be fun to hear what people on this board think. smile

------------------
    something witty.

[This message has been edited by Nonesuch (edited November 18, 2001).]

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    sounds like one of those 'contingent' and 'necessary' arguments...