Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

This is how it begins.

There's me, Alan. That's not my real name but whenever I say my real name, that's what people think I'm saying. So. There's me and the typewriter I bought for $40 at a pawn shop and a stack of paper to my left. I stare at the machine and it stares back at me, not concerned about anything. I take a sheet of paper, admire the pure whiteness of it, put it in the machine and roll it through to where I want to start.

I'm a writer, you see.

Or trying to be one, at least, and the hardest part comes upon me. I'm sitting on a drum stool looking at the blank paper in the typer in front of me and now the hard part begins, the worst part: finding the right words to begin. And make no mistake about it, the words have to be the right words, perfect, simple perhaps, not too complicated. But they have to be just SO. And so I sit and stare at teh blank white. My lower back begins to ache from sitting on the stool. It's a distraction, something to keep me from getting started. It's one of many: going to the bathroom, answering the phone, checking the mail. There's always some kind of distraction.

I tap out a few words, look at them. They're not great, not memorable, but it's something and that's better than nothing. I can always change it later, I say to myself.

I tap out a few more words, then a few more. Now I'm going, I'm doing it. I listen to the mechanical tapping of the keys as they hit the paper, scarring it with letters, words, paragraphs. I casually scan the page as I near the bottom. I'm pleased with it although I know that it might not amount to much. At least I'm on a steady roll. My back hurts, but I ignore it and keep typing, gradually increasing my speed as my confidence grows.