Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Model 19 Cabinets

Hi. I am new to the Altec world. I am looking to have a pair of model 19 cabinets made that I can fill with new drivers from Great Plains Audio. I know there used to be someone on ebay that made these but I can't find them anymore. Does anyone know where I might be able to get a pair of these?

Senior Hostboard Member Elitopus1's Avatar
    Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

Re: Model 19 Cabinets

I am not sure who the ebay selller is that you are referring to. Maybe someone else will chime in.

I would look for a local kitchen cabinet maker in your area and have them build the cabs from the Altec plans. It would be a plus if they had built speakers before but thats not necessary. You would save a bunch of money not having to have them shipped to you.

Also if you are a member over on AK you could ask if there is anyone in your area with speaker building experience

- - - Updated - - -

Also if you are not in a hurry to get these you could watch for ebay sellers close to you selling M19 components. Many times a speaker will get parted out and the cabs go in the trash. I noticed just today someone is selling the 420a woofers out of a pair of perfectly good Santanas. I imagine those will go to the curb once the drivers sell.

I picked up a pair of M17 cabs for 20 bucks this way

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    43 Post(s)

......or furniture maker for finest fit/finish.

GM
    Loud is Beautiful if it's Clean! As always though, the usual disclaimers apply to this post's contents.

HB Super Moderator
    Model 19 Cabinets

Follows
    Following
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quoted
    4 Post(s)

Here's a thread you might want to read..

Model 19 cabinet build - 2 sets